WHY DO CHRISTIANS LISTEN TO MUSIC THAT ARE NOT SPIRIT-FILLED OR GOSPEL-RELATED?

I used to love “worldly music” but after accepting Jesus Christ into my life, my desire to listen and sing these songs gradually went away. However, I tend to hear these songs everywhere I find myself. I sometimes tap to the beat or sing along, but later ask myself why I am singing that particular song or what I am learning from the song.

I have learnt that to be able to stay in tune with the Holy Spirit, I need to feed my spirit with songs/music inspired by the Holy Spirit and the word of God. I love contemporary gospel songs with genres like rap, blues, afro-pop and rock but people that are not familiar with these genres do not classify them as gospel songs.

I tried to do some little research on this controversial topic and question. Gospel means ‘good news.’ I found out that Gospel music is one of the vehicles through which the ideals of Christianity have been spread to audiences all over the world.

There are different gospel styles which include, traditional and contemporary gospel styles. The major difference between traditional and contemporary gospel styles is that while traditional gospel usually features a more basic sound suited for singing by a choir, contemporary gospel places more emphasis on solo artists. Most contemporary artists rarely sing with a choir. Praise and worship is a combination of both contemporary and traditional gospel styles, in that a praise leader has a small group of singers to help lead the congregation into singing gospel music.

Some people have the following views to answer the underlying question:
“I think some Christians have not known or come to understand the Holy Spirit so they do not know what songs He is in and which ones He is not. You realize that a song might be sang by a “Gospel artiste” and yet a discerning person will know that it’s not Spirit-filled.”

“Some Christians are still babies and have not yet detached themselves from the things of this world.”

“Others know that this song is not right for me to sing or listen to but they want to appear ” cool” among their peers.”

“I have instrumentalist friends who say they listen to worldly songs to get more “tight beats”. Due to the “boring” nature of most gospel songs.”

“I think all in all Christians must learn to flow in the Spirit every minute, and also consciously decide to please God always,gradually they will hear “non-gospel” songs and it will not even attract them to sing along. This will be the workings of the Holy Spirit.”

“We claim we listen to secular /worldly music because we need variety.”

“I think Christians listen to such songs conditionally. That is, the environment they may find themselves or they group of persons they usually find around themselves may influence their decision.”

“Others may want to listen to secular music to help them have facts when advising a friend to stop.”

With regards to love songs, here were some views:

“Is it okay for couples to listen to love songs sang by “people seen to be in the world?”

“I believe some gospel artistes have love songs. Though they may be love songs related to love between God and man, I think couples can relate it to themselves.”

God has given us the power to make choices. The choice is yours. The Bible says that without holiness no man will see God. If you want to spend eternity in Heaven, you should know that the road is not easy but with the help of the Holy Spirit’s direction, you can make it to Heaven and not Hell. Strive for holiness in your thoughts, actions, words, what you listen to and what you watch.

From the above views, I will like to conclude by saying that, we need to listen to songs that edify our spirits, songs that talk about the gospel of Christ and songs that we can sing with God standing right beside us.

Are you a child of God ? Does He “know” you? Do you want to have an intimate relationship with God? Then choose the music you listen to carefully.

#GODLOVESYOU
#God’sMasterpiece_Ministries

1 thought on “WHY DO CHRISTIANS LISTEN TO MUSIC THAT ARE NOT SPIRIT-FILLED OR GOSPEL-RELATED?”

Leave a comment